Chengdu, Home

LA rained for three days in a row and it reminded me of my hometown, Chengdu. I lived there for thirteen years and moved to LA when I was in 8th grade. It has all of my childhood memories and many people that I love.

Families

Most young people might find family dinner very boring, because they have to sit there and listen to their grandparents talking about things that happened forty years ago. However, that is actually my favorite part of going back to Chengdu. The time that I spent with my family is always joyful and worth treasuring, because they know everything about me, so I could be my true self in front of them. They know what type of person I am, what I am passionate about, and what my weaknesses are. In addition, after I went abroad, I realize how powerful family is.  Friends could turn against each other and lovers could break up, but families will always be there.

Food

Chengdu is known for its spicy food and snack food. My favorite is hot pot and glutinous rice cake! There are a lot of Chinese restaurants in LA too, but none of them has the same taste with the dishes in Chengdu.

Friends

To be honest, I actually don’t have a lot of friends in Chengdu, because I only went to elementary school and one year of middle school there. I’m closest with my elementary school friends. There are seven of us and we have known each other for over ten years. Before I left Chengdu, we spent every New Year’s eve together and that was one of my best memory in Chengdu. Whenever I need help, they would always be there for me like my family. I always think that I’m such a lucky person who gets to have these great friends.

Leave a Reply

